AFCAT (Air Force Common Admission Test)

It is a recruitment examination organized by the Indian Air Force (IAF).As an Officer in the Indian Air Force, you will inherit a glorious heritage and timeless traditions of the IAF, blended perfectly with the latest technology. The Air Force teaches you all, not only making men and women of young boys and girls but making them leaders in life. An officer’s strength of character and strong moral compass make him/her stand out from the crowd at all times.

As an officer in the Indian Air Force you will strategise, lead and manage. Depending on your qualifications, you could join one of the various branches in the IAF. Broadly the Air Force has three branches with further sub-streams:

(a) Flying Branch 

  • Fighters
  • Transports
  • Helicopters

(b) Ground Duty (Technical) Branch 

  • Mechanical
  • Electronics 

(c)  Ground Duty (Non-technical) Branch 

  • Administration
  • Accounts
  • Logistics
  • Education
  • Meteorology

AFCAT Eligibility

Nationality: - Only Indian Citizens

Marital Status: - Single

Age - 20 to 24 years (at the time of commencement of course)

(1)Flying Branch:

You surely fly high by joining the Flying branch of the IAF. You are trained as a Fighter pilot or a Helicopter pilot or a Transport pilot and are part of various peace and wartime missions. As a Graduate/ Engineer, you enter the Flying branch through the Air Force Academy.

The following are the three modes of entry for Graduates/ Engineers to join the Flying branch:

CDSE (COMBINED DEFENCE SERVICES EXAMINATION) (FOR MEN ONLY): Men can enter through this mode of entry and will get a Permanent Commission.

NCC SPECIAL ENTRY (FOR MEN AND WOMEN): As an Air Wing Senior Division ’C’ Certificate holder of the National Cadet Corps, you can apply to the Flying Branch of the Indian Air Force. Men & women can join the Air Force through this mode of entry. Permanent Commission offered for men and Short Service Commission for men and women.

SSC (SHORT SERVICE COMMISSION) ENTRY (FOR MEN AND WOMEN): You can apply through AFCAT for Short Service Commission (SSC) in the Flying Branch. Short Service Commission in flying branch is for 14 years with no further extension.


Managing human and material resources, the Ground Duty (Non-technical) Branch is the mechanism that steers the Indian Air Force. As a Graduate you can join as an officer in any of the following Ground Duty (Non-technical) Branches.

(a) ADMINISTRATION BRANCH: - Responsible for the efficient management of both human and material resources. Some of the officers of the Administration Branch are selected and trained to carry out the following duties also:

  1. Air Traffic Controller – Involves maintaining an orderly flow of traffic and airspace management.
  2. Fighter Controller – Involves close contact and supervision between the air and radar for effective airspace management.

(B) ACCOUNTS BRANCH: Responsible for efficient financial management of funds.You will also act as internal auditor to ensure a zero-defect audit from outside agencies.

(c) LOGISTICS BRANCH:- Responsible for materials management of all Air Force resources. You would ensure efficient supervision of inventories, and involve in procurement processes of various ranges of equipment

(d) METEOROLOGY BRANCH: As a Meteorology Branch Officer you would be involved handling the latest satellite imagery and state-of-the-art monitoring equipment, you would render specific advice to the operators on all aspects of weather.



As an officer in the Ground Duty (Technical) Branch, you propel and manage your team to ensure that the Indian Air Force remains airworthy. You would be Incharge of some of the most sophisticated equipment in the world by joining one of the sub branches based on your qualification.


(For Post Graduates)

Managing human and material resources, the Ground Duty (Non-technical) Branch is the mechanism that steers the Indian Air Force.